Welcome, Guest
Please Login or Register.    Lost Password?

Create URL Button to open a webpage?
(1 viewing) (1) Guest
Go to bottomPage: 12
TOPIC: Create URL Button to open a webpage?
Create URL Button to open a webpage? 1 Year, 2 Months ago  
Hi

I am no programmer but I have successfully managed to make adjustments to skins by trial and error and by looking at examples. I am however totally stumped on one requirement and I have been unable to find anything via my search engine.

I have a Rainlendar2 weather skin that shows weather for several days on my desktop. Sometimes I would like to access the website it gets its information from for more complete details which is not a function of this skin.

What I wish to do is add a button to the skin (worked out how to do that) which calls a specific URL and opens that link in my default browser.

Unfortunately I have no idea if this requirement is even possible and if so what the syntax needs to be

Please can anybody give me an example URL Button syntax if such an action IS possible

Many thanks
Muttley
Fresh Boarder
graphgraph
User Offline Click here to see the profile of this user
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: Create URL Button to open a webpage? 1 Year, 2 Months ago  
If you have read how buttons work (from Lua script files), then, the function you're looking for is Rainlendar_Execute(url)
Jorge_Luis
Platinum Boarder
graphgraph
User Online Now Click here to see the profile of this user
Gender: Male My Rainlendar Skins Location: Argentina Birthday: 03/15

Re:Create URL Button to open a webpage? 1 Year, 2 Months ago  
If you use the official weather skin, you can directly click the city name, where is include a hyperlinks.
But, I remember you seems use Statica-Color skin, and I found the Statica-Color's author was seems disable this function. So, you can try to :

a) Found "weather.lua" file and open it with text-editor.

b) Found (or the similar)
-- if (link) then